

40th NATIONAL MUSIC FESTIVAL

August 14, 2011 - The 2011 National Music Festival took place August 11th to 12th at the St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia. Sixty-six musicians ranging in age from 14 to 28 years old competed in eight discipline categories (piano, strings, voice, woodwinds, brass, percussion, guitar and chamber groups). The first place winners of each discipline competed for the Grand Award title and prize of \$5,000 on Saturday, August 13th, at the Gerald Schwartz School of Business Auditorium, Antigonish.

NRS Foundation: Victoria Foundation GRAND AWARD WINNER: Blake Pouliot (ON)

First place **Second Place** Brass: Leanne Paisley (AB) Brass: Stephen Ivany (NL) Brass: Dylan Maddix (PEI) Chamber: Trio Benterria (NB) Chamber: Arbutus Trio (BC)

Guitar: Alain Gaudet (NB) Guitar. Brent Crawford (ON) Percussion: Patrick Gaudet (NB) Percussion: Devon Roulston (ON)

Piano: Anna Vertypolokh (ON) Piano: Weslev Chu (AB) String: Blake Pouliot (ON) String: Heemin Choi (NS) Voice: Danika Lorèn (SK) Voice: Laura McLean (NS) Woodwind: Matthew Packer (MB) Woodwind: Gerard Weber (SK) **Third Place**

Chamber: Earl Haig String Quartet (ON)

Guitar: Matthew Martin (NS) Percussion: Lisa Pattison (SK) Piano: Meagan Milatz (SK)

String: (Jessy) Je Young Kim (BC) Voice: Christine Tuturea (AB) Woodwind: Adrienne Richey (NS)

Jan Simons Memorial Award for Song Interpretation – Voice: Carol Léger (NB)

There were several **special awards** given out this year:

Antigonish Award in Brass: Dylan Maddix (PEI)

Most Sincere Performance – Piano: Pierre-André Doucet (NB)

Most Musically Engaging Performance – Strings: Jaevoung Chong (NB)

Best Joy in Performing – Woodwinds: Gerard Weber (SK) Most Original Repertoire - Guitar: Adam Batstone (NL) Most Spirited Performance – Chamber: Arbutus Trio (BC)

Special Award for Original Arrangement – Percussion: Patrick Gaudet (NB)

Male Spirit Award: Patrick Gaudet (NB)

Female Spirit Award: Erinne-Colleen Laurin (ON)

Winners of Choral Classes were also announced. Choirs from across Canada were adjudicated by CD. The winners are:

Class 100 – Honourable Barbara A. Hagerman – Best performance by a community choral group 19 and up

First Belle Canto – directed by Heather Johnson (AB)

Second Festival Youth Singers – directed by Rich Sumstad (ON)

Class 101 – City of Lincoln – Best performance by a choral group of male singers

First Canterbury High School Men's Choir – directed by Laurie Hamilton (ON)

Pembina Trails Voices - Men - directed by Ruth Wiwchar and Janet Brenneman (MB) Second

Class 102 – George S. Mathieson – Best performance by a community choral group choral group 19 and under

First Bach Chamber Youth Choir and Bach Children's Chorus Chamber Choir – directed by Linda Beaupré (ON)

Second Cantilon Chamber Choir – directed by Heather Johnson (AB)

Class 103 – Paul J. Bourret – Best performance by a choral group from a single school 19 and under

First Canterbury High School Chamber Chorus – directed by Laurie Hamilton (ON)

Magee Chamber Choir – directed by Greg Quan (BC) Second

Class 104 - Richard W. Cooke - Best performance by a choral ensemble of 8 to 12 singers

First Belle Canto Ensemble – directed by Heather Johnson (AB) Second Vocal 12^e De La Salle – directed by Robert Filion (ON)

Class 105 - Dr & Mrs. J.F.K. English - Best performance by a community choral group 16 and under

First Cantilon Junior Choir – directed by Heather Johnson (AB)

Second Juventus Concert Choir – directed by Diana Woolrich (SK)

Class 106 – David Ouchterlony – Best performance by a choral group from a single school 16 and under

First Thomas Street Middle School – directed by Carole Anderson (ON)

Second Nanaimo Youth Choir – directed by Marian Smith (BC)

Class 107 - Margaret Wharton Memorial - Best performance by a community choral group 12 and under

First Bach Children's Chorus: Choirs II & III – directed by Linda Beaupré (ON)

Second Pembina Trails Voices - Choraliers – directed by Ruth Wiwchar and Andrea Wicha

Class 108 – Florine Després – Best performance by a choral group from a single school 12 and under

First Northdale Central Jr. Choir – directed by Jacquelyn Norman (ON)

Class 109 – Barbara Clark – Best performance by a community choral group 25 and under

First Coastal Sound Youth Choir – directed by Carrie Tennant (BC)

Second Prairie Voices – directed by Natalie Poole (MB)

Past winners of the National Music Festival include Roger Admiral, Naida Cole, Scott Goodyear, Benjamin Bowman, Jasper Wood, Daniel Taylor, Penelope Dale, Laura Whalen, Colin Ainsworth, Nikki Chooi, Todd Yaniw and the Belle Canto Ensemble.

For more information regarding the Federation of Canadian Music Festivals, please visit: www.fcmf.org

Source: Meghan Proudfoot

Public Relations Chair

Federation of Canadian Music Festivals

Telephone: 416-553-1191

meghan_proudfoot@hotmail.com

14004 75th Ave North West, Edmonton (Alberta) CANADA T5R 2Y5 | TEL: 877-323-3263 | fcmf@shaw.ca